A Handbook of Bible Law

Copyright 1991 by Charles A. Weisman. 2nd Edition: Aug., 1992; 3rd Edition: Dec., 1994


Comments: The Decalogue (or DECALOG), is the name by which the Greek fathers designated "The Ten Commandments," which were written by God on tables of stone and given to Moses on Mount Sinai.

"So Jehovah declared to you His covenant which He commanded you to perform, that is, the Ten Commandments; and wrote them on two tablets of stone" (Deut. 4:13).

In Hebrew the name is asarah dabar, which literally means "ten words," as is found in Exod. 34:28; Deut. 4:13; Deut. 10:4. The Decalogue is five times alluded to in the New Testament, where they are called commandments.

The Ten Commandments are often divided into two groups, one containing the first four commandments relating to our duty towards God, and the other containing the last six commandments relating our duty to our neighbor.

1A - Ten Commandments

  1. I am the LORD your God, you shall have no other gods besides me. Exod. 20:2-3; Deut. 5:6-7.
  2. You shall not make for yourself any carved image, or any likeness of anything; you shall not bow down to them nor serve them. Exod. 20:4-5; Deut. 5:8-9.
  3. You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain. Exod. 20:7; Deut. 5:11.
  4. Observe the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Exod. 20:8-11; Deut 5:12.
  5. Honor your father and your mother. Exod. 20:12; Deut. 5:16.
  6. You shall not murder. Exod. 20:13; Deut. 5:17.
  7. You shall not commit adultery. Exod. 20:14; Deut. 5:18.
  8. You shall not steal. Exod. 20:15; Deut. 5:19.
  9. You shall not bear false witness. Exod. 20:16; Deut. 5:20.
  10. You shall not covet anything that is your neighbor's. Exod. 20:17; Deut 5:21.

Previous | Next | Home